Just Bloggin'

Don’t Forget

So here’s the sitch. Anyone know that reference? Kim Possible? OK, moving on.

I realized something and I felt like a major dork when God slapped me in the face with it. During my time at The Cove listening to Melissa Taylor and others speak about real life dreams, I was so focused on discovering that dream deep in my heart that I wanted to fulfill. That one thing I could find time to pursue, that one thing that would make my heart so happy to be doing. I realized…I’m already living my dream. Each day I get to wake up, stay home with my son, get to teach my son, all while watching and teaching other children. My home daycare was once my dream.

I will never forget when I first really heard about home daycare. I was at my past daycare center job and one of my co-workers was discussing her home daycare that she closed down to come work at the center. I won’t lie, dollars signs were floating around in my mind and at first that was what really was enticing me to pursue it. Everything my co-worker was saying just sounded so good. Making money while getting to stay at home? What doesn’t sound great about that?! So I went to God in prayer and to my husband about the idea of turning our home into a daycare a good chunk of hours every day. At the time we lived in a duplex. It was small, but the perfect size for our little family. This thought of a home daycare consumed my mind. I really wanted to do it, and I even called my landlord for the okay and he gave it to me. Although I knew in my heart that my limited space was not enough. So I shelved my idea and just went on with the normal routine of life. Then in August of 2013 we bought out first house. I knew before going into buying the house that once we moved in and got settled I wanted to start the home daycare process. There were inservice classes to take, DCFS visits to be had and children to find to care for. Paperwork that needed to be made up, things that needed to be bought to make my house suitable to care for children according to DCFS standards. It was all so exciting to me.

On October 7th it will be a year that I have been in business. I have had kids come and go, but most importantly, God’s hand has been all over my business. I trust him with my daycare fully because he pushed me to open it. There were times when I wanted to give up. Times when I thought, forget this I can’t do it, I’ll just get a 9 to 5 job like everyone else. But God pushed this on my heart and I knew I had to answer his calling.

I’m not writing this to brag. Although I have to admit, I feel pretty proud of myself for what I have accomplished. I’m writing to remind you not to live in the future and forget about what you have and have going on today in the present. I was living in the future during the Real Life Dreams Retreat. Can I have other dreams other then my home daycare? Of course I can! But I can’t let what is in front of me slip out of my mind. I know God has great things in store for me and he’ll reveal those dreams one day at a time.

All we have to do is take one step at a time.

Standard

Leave a comment